Brown Eighth at Boise EnduroCross, Gomez Captures Second

Factory Husqvarna's Mike Brown overcame a first turn crash to finish eighth in the main event at the Ford Idaho Center. Photo by Drew Ruiz
Factory Husqvarna’s Mike Brown overcame a first turn crash to finish eighth in the main event at the Ford Idaho Center. Photo by Drew Ruiz

Biting cold didn’t stop Husqvarna racers from taking on the round 8 of the GEICO AMA EnduroCross championship, which took place in Boise, Idaho amid below-freezing temps. Mike Brown and Sandra Gomez toughed out the cold, and the daunting track at the Ford Idaho Center in Nampa, Idaho (just outside Boise) for the penultimate round of the series.

The night started out well for Mike Brown, who once again showed the fast way around the course during the day qualifiers. Fresh off his gold-medal effort at the 2014 ISDE, Brown was looking to ride his momentum into the night show in Boise, but the slick track didn’t make it easy. Brown led the way in the first heat of the evening until getting hung up in a nasty log section. Brown lost the lead but held on for third, and a transfer into the main event.

Things didn’t go well for Brown right from the start of the main event, where he got pushed out in the first turn, and was forced to head into the first lap dead last. Brown put on a commendable charge in the remaining laps, and made his way up to eighth place by the checkered flag.

“This isn’t the kind of night we hope to have, but Mike pushed hard and hung in there tonight,” commented Husqvarna’s Andy Jefferson. “Mike has what it takes to get on the podium, and we have one more round this year to make it happen. We’re looking forward to a strong finish to our 2014 season at the Ontario, California EnduroCross finale next Saturday.”

Boise AMA EnduroCross Main Event Results
1. Cody Webb
2. Taylor Robert
3. Colton Haaker
4. Taddy Blazusiak
5. Cory Graffunder
6. Max Gerston
7. Geoff Aaron
8. Mike Brown (Husqvarna)
9. Kyle Redmond
10. Trystan Hart

AMA EnduroCross Points Standings
1. Cody Webb (191/3 wins)
2. Colton Haaker (178/2 wins)
3. Taddy Blazusiak (176/2 wins)
4. Taylor Robert (156/1 win)
5. Max Gerston (109)
6. Mike Brown (105) Husqvarna
7. Cory Graffunder (101)
8. Bobby Prochnau (90)
9. Ty Tremaine (89)
10. Geoff Aaron (88)

Another Podium for Sandra Gomez!
Husqvarna's Sandra Gomez (left) had a great battle in the Women's Class with Lexi Pechout, but had to settle for second in Idaho. Photo by Drew Ruiz
Husqvarna’s Sandra Gomez (left) had a great battle in the Women’s Class with Lexi Pechout, but had to settle for second in Idaho. Photo by Drew Ruiz

Husqvarna’s Sandra Gomez made her return to the United States to take on another round of AMA EnduroCross. The Spaniard was looking to make it three in a row, and looked as though she was on her way to making it happen aboard her TC 125 in Boise. But a hard-charging Lexi Pechout challenged her for the lead on the final lap of the race. Gomez ultimately had to settle for second place, but was still pleased to end her night on the podium, and card the fastest lap time of the race.

Boise AMA EnduroCross Women’s Pro Results
1. Lexi Pechout
2. Sandra Gomez (Husqvarna)
3. Shelby Turner
4. Kacy Martinez
5. Melissa Harten
6. Rachel Gutish
7. Chantelle Bykerk
8. Tarah Gieger
9. Nicole Bradford
10. Megan Blackburn

Husqvarna announces new 2015 Racing Contingency Program!

All-new contingency program will offer rewards to Husqvarna off-road and motorcross racers. Look for details October 2014 at

The 2015 Husqvarna Motorcycles are here!

Find an authorized Husqvarna Motorcycles dealer near you and check out the 2015 FC, FE, TC, and TE motorcycles, as well as the new FE 350 S and FE 501 S street-legal dual sports!

New-Generation Husqvarna Motorcycles Dealers by state

Husqvarna Motorcycles. Tradition on two wheels since 1903.

Husqvarna Motorcycles are widely known and respected in the off-road world for a heritage of competition and numerous motocross and enduro world championships. Originally founded in Sweden in 1903, Husqvarna Motorcycles have been designed and manufactured in Mattighofen, Austria since 2013.

Husqvarna Motorcycles North America, Inc.

Husqvarna has continued to expand its professional race team to compete in AMA National Enduro, GNCC, AMA EnduroCross, OMA Nationals, AMA West Hare Scrambles Series and AMA National Hare & Hound championships. Husqvarna team riders are competing aboard 2015 Husqvarna FC 450, FC 250, FC 350, TC 125, TC 250 and TE 300 off-road models.

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s